Archive for June 3, 2008

not an auspicious start to my week

I’m sad to report that this week hasn’t gone very smoothly so far on the exercise front. I woke up Monday with a fairly good headache which was pounding by the end of the group workout. Mondays workout ended up being a matter of just making it through and I spent quite a bit of my time resting my head against the floor and/or wall in an attempt to aleviate the thumping. Thankfully I was able to go straight home afterwards, take some tylenol, drink a coke and sleep for 2 more hours before going to work. That sorted the headache out and I thought I was doing better. I went to the gym after work and spent 30 minutes on the treadmill, 5 minutes on the stairmaster and 15 minutes on the bike so I was able to save the abysmal calorie burn I’d gotten in the morning.

This morning when I woke up I felt better, not great but better and so I was able to get to the gym a little early and do some upper body lifting. Yesterday we did some upper body things and I gave it a half-assed go thus I needed to make it up a little. Then for class we worked with Natalie and she tried to kill us. Okay, she was really trying to help us get a good burn but it felt like being killed. I was not feeling very chipper and spent a lot of the hour near tears. I’m just feeling very sad and discouraged today. I’m back at that place where I’m feeling overwhelmed and frustrated about my ability level. I spent waaayyy to much time this morning feeling sorry for myself and not enough thinking about what I’ve accomplished. As a result as soon as class was over I left and cried all the way home.

I’d like to blame all of this stuff, the crying and headache, on being pre-menstrual. I’d like to. However, the fact that I’ve had my blessed period for the last 22 days would suggest that there is nothing “pre” about how I’m feeling. Still, I’m claiming hormones as the problem and hope things get figured out soon! I’d hate for all the crying to be my fault! 🙂

P.S. Karalee, I hope you are feeling better!