Formal contest over but I’m still going

Last Friday marked the end of my 4th Ultimate Loser program and while pound-wise it was my least successful, emotionally I feel that this was my best UL yet.

When I started 8 weeks ago, I set goals to make sure that I exercised and changed my diet in a sustainable way. In the past, I have been so completely burnt out by week 8 that all I want to do is order an extra-large pizza and sleep. However, this time I’m still good to continue working out and eating sensibly. All because I took it easier this time.

Not to say that I didn’t work… I did. Hard. Getting up every morning at 5:30 to spend an hour sweating (and often vomiting ;-) ) is work but I found as time went on getting up was easier and I looked forward to getting my blood moving for the day. I’ve improved my mile time, by quite a bit, even though I was exercising fewer hours a day.  I also didn’t count calories as strictly as before. During past UL’s I kept my caloric intake to 1300-1400 calories a day and spent a lot of time dreaming about what I would eat when it was over. I would even shop for forbidden things and store them in my cupboards so I could eat them the second my 8 weeks were finished. I lost a lot of weight in 8 weeks but I also gained a lot of it back. This time I allowed myself more freedom. I had 1 free day a week where I didn’t keep track (at all) and I let myself have the occasional treat. I still lost weight, most weeks, but at a more modest rate and I’m okay with that.

So, I didn’t lose the 30 pounds of I’d lost in past competitions but I feel like I can keep going over the summer. I ended with a 4.2 pound loss during the final week bringing my total to 15 pounds lost. I have a long way to go before I start feeling like I’m looking any better but I feel better and emotionally I’m still raring to go.

And that, my friends, is Progress.

5 Comments »

  1. Auntie L Said:

    Congratulations. I think you will do better now. Losing a little at a time, and doing things in a more moderate way usually works better. I went to the Doctor last week and My weight is in the range of 235 -245. When I weighted in I was in that same range and the Doctor said my weight was good. My blood pressure was in the normal range. I have found that keeping my weight steady and my vital functions good is a much better way to do things. I stopped worrying about my weight and such a long time ago. Just because the world is obsessed with appearance, doesn’t mean they are right. Think of it this way, if all of these UL, lose weight places were successful at keeping people people “thin” after their programs were finished, they would soon be out of business. They do not want that because there is lots of money in the “fitness industry. The good thing is that you feel better emotionally. Keep up the good work!

  2. I do feel that I need to make it clear, for the record, that this program is all about becoming healthy. They stress over and over that this is about creating a healthy lifestyle and not a quick, drop as many pounds as you can, program. It is most certainly not about appearance and I’m not in this for my appearance (that is just an added bonus).

    I am trying to create a future for myself that is as healthy/easy as possible. Diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol are all things that I can avoid by bringing my weight down and frankly it will be a lot easier to get myself around at 160 pounds than at 260 if & when I lose my mobility. This is about helping myself to have a long, fulfilling, joyous life.

  3. wyogranny Said:

    Yea you! Keep up the good work. I’m still working on your PJ’s so don’t despair! I bought a bunch of books for you at the Scholastic online sale. The school owed me some money so I used it to get some stuff. Are you coming home for father’s day? Dave and the boys will be coming.

  4. Teresa Said:

    Excellent, Karen! One of these days we will need to get some walking and talking in. You keep it going, girl! I know you’ll do great!

  5. grieveguemi Said:

    Seems like you are a real pro. Did you study about the matter? haha


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

